Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeSportsIPL 2022: Rohit Sharma achieves the feat breaking all the previous records!

IPL 2022: Rohit Sharma achieves the feat breaking all the previous records!

Indian team’s skipper Rohit Sharma on 26 February, that is on Saturday created another headline. The skilled cricketer was able to become one of the most successful captains of T20I. Talking about the home venues, he was able to win against Sri Lanka. India won by seven wickets in the second T20I. The match took place in Dharamshala.

Getting the hunt of 184, Team India was seen at the best. Shreyas Iyer (74 out of 44), Ravindra Jadeja (45 out of 18), and Sanju Samson (39 out of 25) got to the finish line. It came to want end with 2.5 overs and seven wickets for the team. After winning this match too, the team records their three-game run 2-0.  Also, team India goes ahead a winning streak in T20I cricket. It goes up to 11 games as per the streak that began the T20 World Cup. The world cup took place last year.

The 11 Consecutive T20I wins of Team India:

  1. 66 runs against Afghanistan
  2. 8 Wickets vs Scotland
  3. 9 Wickets vs Namibia
  4. 5 Wickets vs New Zealand
  5. 7 Wickets vs New Zealand
  6. 73 runs vs New Zealand
  7. 6 wickets against West Indies
  8. 8 runs vs West Indies
  9. 17 runs vs West Indies
  10. 62 runs against Sri Lanka
  11. 7 wickets against Sri Lanka

Talking about all the wins, Rohit steps ahead to create a world record. The cricketer leads the team to 16 wins in 17 T20I home matches. These wins make him the most successful home team captain. Well, in the shortest format, the Indian skipper also crosses England’s, Eoin Morgan. He also broke the record of New Zealand’s Kane Williamson. Compared with other Indian captains, Rohit took more than three T20I wins than Kohli. Also, he took five more wins than MS Dhoni, at home matches.

A new record: 

This is also the third series that he won consecutively.  Since Rohit became a full-time captain of the T20 format in November 2021, the record keeps breaking. The ‘Hitman’ also led India to a 3-0 win when they played against New Zealand. Then, a 3-0 win while playing against the West Indies. Thus in total, he got up with 23 wins in 25 games. After becoming the captain of the T20I, his leadership led Team India to get the spot of the No. 1 in the T20I rankings. This is just after the 3-0 series. The match was against the team of the West Indies. 

Also to make a note of, Rohit was able to cross over New Zealand batter Martin Guptill. He also surpasses former India skipper Kohli. It is when he became the lead go-getter in Twenty20 Internationals. Well, it is in the first T20I which was played with Sri Lanka. It took place on Thursday. Thus, if our team manages to clear Sri Lanka 3-0 in the T20 series, we might get to see another record. A record for most consecutive T20 wins will be set. The team of Afghanistan has this record for most consecutive wins. They got 12 for now. Our team of the Men in Blue just needs one more for it.

Swetha Sivakumar
Swetha Sivakumar
I am Swetha Sivakumar an Engineer who is obsessed with writing and keeping myself updated with latest and fun news to turn it into an article.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments