Sunday, April 14, 2024
HomeSportsRohit Sharma appointed as India's ODI captain! Netizens are happy!

Rohit Sharma appointed as India’s ODI captain! Netizens are happy!

As you all know that Rohit Sharma has become India’s permanent t20i captain, well this news has made everyone very much happy with the decision of BCCI. But now BCCI has also added another responsibility to Rohit Sharma as they have appointed Rohit Sharma as the ODI captain and thus Rohit Sharma will now take over the ODI captaincy from Virat Kohli. This news has been hitting headlines now and it has been spreading across all social media platforms. Thus netizens are quite happy with the news and especially Twitter has not been able to keep calm since the news has been spreading. Well, this news has surely flocked the microblogging site with a lot of comments as people have started expressing their views on this news.

So according to the report, it is known that Rohit Sharma will now take over the reins from the upcoming three-match ODI series which will be against South Africa. The bilateral series will begin in January 2022, as per the reports.

source = thequint

After taking over the T20I captaincy post the culmination of the T20 World Cup, Rohit Shamra definitely led India to a 3-0 clean sweep of New Zealand, and well, the change in the post, however, doesn’t come as a complete surprise as there were quite a few reports that made the claim about his take over. BCCI, with the announcement, has aptly put all types of anticipation finally to rest, thus making all the netizens quite happy with the news.

And for the ones who may not have the idea, Rohit won’t be new to take over the important role as he has already led the ‘Men in Blue’ in 10 ODIs, and under his guidance, India has won eight of those, which includes the 2018 Asia Cup in the UAE. While Virat Kohli was absent from the tournament in which India beat Bangladesh in a thrilling final. 

On the other hand, Virat Kohli will hand over the reins to a proud man, after all, the team won 70.43 percent of their matches. In overall 95 games, India has won 65 and lost 27. Virat Kohli took over the captaincy from MS Dhoni in 2017.

Virat Kohli also made a way for his team to one final and semifinal in ICC tournaments; the 2017 Champions Trophy and the 2019 ICC World Cup, respectively, and in 2017, India reached the final of the ICC Champions Trophy, where they lost to Pakistan. After two years, India reached the semi-final of the T20 World Cup under Virat Kohli, where they finished at the top of the table after the group stage.

The BCCI has also announced an 18-member squad for SA Tests, as they revealed Rohit as the new Tests Vice-captain.

The members of the Squad are Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma(VC), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Swetha Sivakumar
Swetha Sivakumar
I am Swetha Sivakumar an Engineer who is obsessed with writing and keeping myself updated with latest and fun news to turn it into an article.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments