Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeSportsAshwin is a part of India’s T20 world cup squad! Dhoni is...

Ashwin is a part of India’s T20 world cup squad! Dhoni is all set to play the role of a mentor!

On Wednesday 28 September India announced their 15 member squad for the ICC men’s T20 world cup which will be conducted with off-spinner R Ashwin making a return to the squad. Well, the white ball squad is all set for the matches and MS Dhoni will be the team mentor. Listen as per the BCCI honorary secretary Jay Shah, they thought of appointing Dhoni, the former Indian captain who led the side to the inaugural T20 world cup trophy, and said “As far as Dhoni is concerned, I spoke to him when I was in Dubai”. “He was okay with the decision, and he agreed to be a mentor for team India, for the T20 World Cup only. 

“I spoke to the captain (Virat Kohli) and vice-captain (Rohit Sharma) as well as Ravi Shastri (the head coach), and that’s why we concluded.” the return of Ashwin. The off-spinner was lastly seen playing the limited-overs cricket for India in the year 2017 and he was restricted later to test cricket. Well that’s the likes of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal is a preferred option for India in the limited-overs cricket, the duo has been left out of the 15 number squad and Rahul Chahar the leg spinner, as well as Varun Chakravarthy, are making the squad. 

source = wisden

Talking about the other player left out was Shikhar Dhawan who was captain of India in the limited over series which was conducted in Sri Lanka in July. Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav are both included in the squad while the three specialist all-rounders Hardik Pandya,  Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel have opted. Bhuvneshwar  Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami are also in the squad as front-line pacers. The opening of the campaign will be done by Kohli’s side in a blockbuster super12 encounter which will be against Pakistan in Dubai. 

It will be conducted on 24 October and apart from Pakistan India is also being pooled with Afghanistan as well as news in 9 in group 2. Both the top two teams in each group of the Super12 state progress to the semifinal round and with the finals set it will be played in Dubai on November 14.  Talking about the full squad all the members in the squad are Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami and the stand by members include Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur. Fans have been eagerly waiting for the news of the formation of the squad and also now as the news is out they are waiting for the all upcoming amazing matches and looking forward to their favorite teams to play.

Swetha Sivakumar
Swetha Sivakumar
I am Swetha Sivakumar an Engineer who is obsessed with writing and keeping myself updated with latest and fun news to turn it into an article.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments