Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeSportsBCCI officially announced the team for the upcoming T20I series!

BCCI officially announced the team for the upcoming T20I series!

The long wait has come to an end as the BCCI has announced India’s squad that will be a part of the upcoming T20I series at home. The squad will be playing against New Zealand. The tour is scheduled to commence with the T20Is on November 17 and the Test matches will be played starting from November 25. India lost T20 World Cup in the Super 12 round itself and with that, the captaincy period of  Virat Kohli also came to an end. Now, as per the selector’s decision, Rohit Sharma will be India’s new captain for the T20I series and along with that a lot of players who were all a part of the World Cup squad have been rested for the T20I series. 

The players have been playing for more than six months now. The likes of Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravindra Jadeja have been kept away from the three T20Is matches set up against the Kiwis. To make a note of, the players who were in the reserves for the World Cup, including Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Axar Patel are also now in the main squad and for sure the players will have a chance to stake their claim with the next T20 World Cup. 

source = bcci

It is only 11 months away and the shocking return post of Yuzvendra Chahal is the main thing seen in World Cup exclusion. India’s T20I squad includes Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj. The schedule for India vs New Zealand T20I is as follows

Wednesday17th Nov 20211st T20IJaipur
Friday19th Nov 20212nd T20IRanchi
Sunday21st Nov 20213rd T20IKolkata

India ‘A’ squad for the South Africa tour is not out and the selection committee also picked the India ‘A’ squad for the South Africa tour. The tour begins on 23rd November 2021 in Bloemfontein having three four-day matches. 

The tour of the South Africa series will have the two teams playing three Tests, three ODIs, and four T20Is. Talking about the ‘A’ squad, it includes Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla. Their schedule is as follows: 

Tue-Fri23rd to 26th Nov 20211st Four-day MatchBloemfontein
Mon-Thu29th Nov to 2nd Dec 20212nd Four-day MatchBloemfontein
Mon-Thu6th to 9th Dec 20213rd Four-day MatchBloemfontein

Well, all the cricket lovers, especially people who are supporting the Men in Blue, cannot just wait for the scheduled matches to begin!

Swetha Sivakumar
Swetha Sivakumar
I am Swetha Sivakumar an Engineer who is obsessed with writing and keeping myself updated with latest and fun news to turn it into an article.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments