Sunday, June 16, 2024
HomeSportsSeven Australian cities will be opening for ICC Men's T20 World Cup...

Seven Australian cities will be opening for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2022!

Seven Australian cities are announced to be welcoming cricketers for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It includes Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Perth, and Adelaide, who will be hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The World Cup is set to begin from October 16 and will go up to November 13 next year as per the given schedule. The other two cities in the list that will be getting ready for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2022 will in all likelihood host the Round 1 matches. The cities are Geelong and Hobart. 

Well, with the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground the cricket fans are expecting to enjoy the final there. “The event which is scheduled to take place between 16 October and 13 November next year will see a total of 45 matches hosted across Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney,” ICC press release said. The semi-finals the next year will be conducted at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Also, the finals will happen at Adelaide Oval. The dates released officially are November 9 and 10, respectively. 

source = economictimes.indiatimes

Well, the other countries that have directly qualified for the Super 12 are defending champions Australia and New Zealand who were the runner-ups. The other finalists including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, and South Africa, are the next highest-ranked teams on the list. The teams will be entering directly into the Super 12 stage and talking about Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies who were the two-time champions, are set to play in Round 1. 

The rest of the four remaining spots at Australia 2022 are supposed to be filled by the qualifications which are currently ongoing. Well, culminating in two global qualifying tournaments, one is going to happen in Oman. It is scheduled to be conducted in February. Also, the other one in Zimbabwe is scheduled to happen in June or July. Chris Tetley said, “We are looking forward to seeing the return of ICC events to Australia and are delighted to announce the seven host cities for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. “Following the success of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 and a two-year postponement, our sights are now firmly set on planning for the 2022 event in collaboration with the LOC. “With 12 teams already confirmed in the line-up, we eagerly await the culmination of the qualification process to see which other teams will join them.” Well, fans are all eagerly waiting for the upcoming matches and are excited for it for sure.

Swetha Sivakumar
Swetha Sivakumar
I am Swetha Sivakumar an Engineer who is obsessed with writing and keeping myself updated with latest and fun news to turn it into an article.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments