Wednesday, March 22, 2023

    Seven-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton receives knighthood

    Seven-time Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton has received a knighthood at Windsor Castle. Hamilton, 36 was knighted after he equalled Michael Schumacher’s all- time record of seven championships last year. He was named in the Queen’s Honours List in December.
    The Prince of Wales knighted him, making him the fourth F1 driver to do so after Sir Jackie Stewart in 2001, Sir Stirling Moss in 2000, and Sir Jack Brabham in 1979.

    A knighthood is an honorary title given by a British king or queen in recognition of exceptional success and service to their country in their field. On Sunday, Hamilton was denied a record-breaking seventh championship when he was controversially beaten by Max Verstappen on the final lap of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. In 2009, after winning his first championship, Hamilton was awarded an MBE (Member of the Order of the British Empire), the third highest accolade, for making a difference in his field of employment.

    The Hamilton Commission was established in 2020 to look into methods to improve Black representation in UK racing, and following a period of consultation, it issued proposals to boost diversity in the sport. In 2021, Hamilton will also start Mission 44, a charity aimed at empowering young people from under-represented groups in the UK and assisting organisations in closing educational and job disparities. He made a personal donation to the charity of £20 million.

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Latest Posts

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.